Facing Marijuana Possession Charges in Travis County?
Call Austin Drug Crimes Lawyer Jackson F. Gorski Immediately!
Marijuana is known by many names which include pot, grass, dope, green, sticky green, dro, good, dodie, weed, and a host of other names. Although the drug is popular and legal in a number of states, you’ll be arrested and jailed if you’re found to be in possession of the drug in Austin and most other counties and towns in Central Texas.
Major cities in Texas are starting to lighten up their pursuit of convictions on people caught with small quantities of the drug, that’s intended for personal use. However, there’s no guarantee that you’ll avoid jail if caught with a small amount of the drug. The smaller counties surrounding Austin and other major cities in Texas aren’t as forgiving, and will pursue a conviction of defendants caught with even trace amounts or marijuana.
Attorney Jackson F. Gorski is a leading drug crimes lawyer in Austin and leaves no effort spared during the process of developing defense strategies for defendants. If you’re ready to discuss your case with an experienced Austin criminal defense lawyer, call The Law Office of Jackson F. Gorski at 512-960-4646 or send a confidential note via contact form.
Marijuana & Texas Law
Criminal Penalties for Marijuana Convictions
Marijuana is illegal to possess in Texas. Possession of any amount up to 2 ounces is a Class B misdemeanor, between 2-4 ounces is a Class A misdemeanor, 4 ounces to 5 pounds is a State Jail Felony, 5 pounds to 50 pounds is a Third Degree Felony, 50 pounds to 2000 pounds is a Second Degree Felony, and more than 2000 pounds is a First Degree Felony.
For a better idea of the criminal penalties associated with Travis County & other Texas marijuana convictions, review the table below.
|2 OZs or Less
||Class B Misdemeanor
||Up to 180D County Jail - 2K Fine
|2 - 4 OZs
||Class A Misdemeanor
||Up to 1YR County Jail - 4K Fine
|4 OZs - 5lbs
||State Jail Felony
||180D-2YR State Jail - 10K Fine|
|5lbs - 50lbs
||Felony in the 3rd Degree
||2-10YR TDCJ - 10K Fine|
|50lbs - 1 Ton
||Felony in the 2nd Degree
||2-20YR TDCJ - 10K Fine|
|Over 1 Ton
||Felony in the 1st Degree
||5-99YR TDCJ - 50K Fine
Also, a conviction for possession of marijuana will result in the automatic suspension of a person’s driver’s license for 180 days. The suspension will be lifted after 180 days if the defendant completes a State approved 15 hour Drug Offender Education Program during the 180 days.
Understanding Marijuana Possession Cases
Convictions Can Be Easily Avoided & Cases Dismissed
When it comes to possession of marijuana cases in Central Texas the outcome, as with every case, depends on what county you are in and whether or not you have prior arrests. Even though it is illegal and you may have been caught red handed that does not mean that you have to come away with a conviction.
Prosecutors and judges understand the consequences associated with a conviction for having a personal amount of marijuana and thus in many cases defendants can take a class and/or do some community service to get their case dismissed.
Many counties offer Pretrial Diversion type programs that require the defendant to complete a short probation and if successful the case will be dismissed and you can get the case immediately expunged.
Of course if your case has any legal defense to prosecution such as an illegal search, illegal arrest, or an illegal detention, I will work to expose the illegality at a pretrial hearing to get your case dismissed.
Austin Marijuana Possession Defense Lawyer
The Law Office of Jackson F. Gorski