Charged with a First-Time DWI Offense in Austin?
Call Attorney Jackson F. Gorski at 512-960-4646 for Immediate Counsel.
Understanding First Offense DWI Cases
An individual that is facing criminal charges for first-offense Driving While Intoxicated may be facing a misdemeanor charge, but this is only the beginning.
Due to the thousands of lives lost on Texas roads and highways on an annual basis, the state of Texas is serious about DWI enforcement and normally conducts stings in high-risk areas and around the holidays.
Some police departments even post patrols near nightclubs in hopes of spotting a “suspected” drunk driver so they can arrest them. What a way to ruin a night.
Although the purpose of DWI enforcement is public safety, many innocent people and folks who shouldn’t have suffered an arrest get caught up in those sweeps. The accused party may not be drunk, but if the police “suspect” the person to be operating a vehicle while impaired or intoxicated, they can and will likely be arrested and jailed and this, again, is only the beginning.
If you or a loved one were arrested and charged with Driving While Intoxicated, and you’re looking for an experienced Austin DWI lawyer to help you learn more about your rights, your legal options, and that will help you fight the charge, call me.
I’m Attorney Jackson F. Gorski, an experienced criminal law attorney. You can reach my office at 512-960-4646. I offer free case evaluations, flexible payment options, and aggressive legal counsel. Call my office if you need my help.
Texas Drunk Driving Laws
An Overview of First Offense DWI Cases
When a person is arrested, jailed, and charged for a first-offense DWI in Texas, their crime is classified as a Class B Misdemeanor which could result in a Travis County Jail sentence of up to 30 days and a fine of up to $2,000.00. In addition to the initial criminal penalty, there are administrative penalties applied to all accused DWI offenders, whether guilty or not, which will affect their ability to lawfully operate a motor vehicle in the state of Texas.
Administrative License Revocation
Simply being suspected of DWI by a police officer can cost a person their Texas Driver License for up to 2 years.
In Texas, when a person is arrested for DWI they’ll only have about 14 days to request a hearing to fight the suspension of their driver license. This makes perfect sense considering people need their cars and they might not have had their day in court yet. This is an automatic process. You’ll literally need to appear in court, hopefully with counsel, to contest the automatic suspension of your driving privileges.
The Law Office of Jackson F. Gorski
If you need help defending yourself during an ALR hearing or a DWI trial in Travis County, call my office at 512-960-4646. I’m attorney Jackson F. Gorski, a trusted lawyer for folks accused of drunk driving in Austin.
If you’re convicted of a 1st-offense DWI and are arrested again for a similar offense in the future, you’ll face enhanced criminal charges. Although it’s a misdemeanor, you should fight it like a felony.
Even if you’re guilty of the offense, there are options available that might allow you to avoid jail, a criminal record, and to keep some level of legal driving privileges. Call my office to learn more or to schedule a meeting so we can review your case.