Looking for a Hit & Run Defense Lawyer in Austin?
Contact Attorney Jackson F. Gorski at 512-960-4646
If you’re involved in an auto accident in Austin or elsewhere in Texas, the law requires you to remain at the scene of the accident to render aid and give information related to your identity and insurer.
Running away or leaving the scene of an accident is a criminal offense that is punishable by law. If convicted, it can result in a lengthy prison sentence if someone was hurt or killed, or a small fine and/or county jail time in the event of property damage.
If you were arrested for a hit & run offense, or believe that you might be in the future, your best option is to retain legal counsel and get ahead of the issue as soon as humanly possible.
With cell phones & security cameras lodged in every nook and cranny in Austin, you need to know if there’s something out there on you. It’s okay to be afraid, but it’s not ok to get a surprise visit from Travis County sheriffs with a warrant for your arrest in hand.
You’re encouraged to call The Law Office of Jackson F. Gorski as soon as possible by calling 512-960-4646 with any questions or concerns you may have pertaining to such an ordeal.
Hit & Run Offenses & Texas Law
In Texas, a person can be charged with a hit & run related offense if the committed one of the following two offenses.
- (FSRI) Failure to Stop and Give Information in the event of vehicle or other property damage.
- (FSRA) Failure To Stop and Render Aid (and give info) in the event of injury or Death.
An individual will be charged with FSGI if;
- the person operating the vehicle was involved in the accident,
- the person was aware that they were involved in the accident,
- or if the person fled the scene without giving information.
“Information” should be considered as the offending driver’s name, address, insurance information, and Texas Driver License information.
Hit & Run Incidents Resulting in Injury or Death
Failure to Stop and Render Aid or FSRA is a more serious offense and, if convicted, could result in penalties which include a prison term and a fine.
According to Texas law, if you are the driver of a vehicle that is involved in an accident that has caused injuries or death, you should:
- Immediately stop your vehicle at the accident scene or near the scene.
- If you didn’t stop at the scene of the accident at first, make efforts to return to the scene immediately.
- Remain at the scene and render aid (Call 911) if you caused an injury.
- Provide your contact information, Texas Driver License information, name and address, and liability insurance information.
In addition to the above, the driver must park their vehicle in a manner that does not interfere with traffic. Failure to comply can result in additional penalties.
Penalties for FSGI and FSRA
If you’re convicted of a FSGI the criminal penalties are determined by the circumstances of the event. If you cause vehicle damage of less than $200.00, the maximum penalty will be assessed under Class C Misdemeanor guidelines which is a maximum fine of 500.00. If you caused more than $200.00 in damage the maximum penalty is a Class B Misdemeanor which is punishable by a fine of up to $2,000.00 and a Travis County jail sentence of up to 180 days.
FSRA cases are felony offenses due to the aggravated nature of the offense. Failure to Stop and Render Aid convictions carry a minimum State Jail Felony classification. If convicted of a State Jail Degree Felony you’ll face a penalty which includes a 180 day to 2 year prison sentence and a maximum fine of $10,000.00.
If the victim suffered serious injuries, the defendant might be charged with a 3rd Degree Felony which, if convicted, can result in a prison sentence ranging from 2-to-10 years with the 10K fine. If the person died the criminal classification is increased to a 2nd Degree Felony which can result in a 20 year prison sentence.
Facing Charges for Hit & Run in Austin?
Call Jackson F. Gorski, Criminal Defense Lawyer, Today
If you’re facing criminal charges for a hit & run related criminal offense in Austin, Travis County, Round Rock, or elsewhere in Central Texas, all hope isn’t lost. The prosecutor has a burden to prove that you knew you hit someone or cause property damage.
If we can create a reasonable doubt that you know of the incident, we can get a jury to issue a not-guilty verdict if the case goes to trial, or make a compelling argument to the prosecutor to drop the case.
If you’re guilty as charged, it doesn’t mean you’ll face the maximum sentence. In fact, it doesn’t even mean you’ll be convicted. Just because you hit someone or damaged property doesn’t make you a criminal deserving of a multi-year prison sentence when it might be possible to beat the case or agree to some form of non-jail probationary agreement.
Austin criminal defense lawyer Jackson F. Gorski is known for having success with tough cases and invites you to call to discuss your case. The phone number to The Law Office of Jackson F. Gorski is 512-960-4646 or you can start the process by sending us a message.
Austin Hit & Run Lawyer • FSRA & FSGI Cases
The Law Office of Jackson F. Gorski