Sexual Assault of a Child

Child Sexual Offences Attorney, Texas

If you have found yourself being accused of sexual abuse, molestation, or sexual assault of a child, you should consider hiring an experienced licensed lawyer for your defense. Before making any official statements to the media or the police officers, you should first consult a thoroughly experienced criminal defense lawyer.

The laws to punish criminals convicted of crimes related to sexual assault of a child, and they are extremely severe in Texas. In some cases, if you are convicted of sexual assault with a minor or child pornography you could end up being jailed for up to 99 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.

Practices Considered As Sexual Assault for Minors

Texas law commonly defines child sexual assault or molestation of a minor as “any harmful sexual behavior to a child’s physical, mental, or emotional welfare as well as making sensible strength to engage in sexual practices with a child, and compelling or encouraging the child to take part in sexual behavior” according to chapter 261 of the Texas Family Code. In addition, it is good to take note that anyone under the age of 17 is considered a child, according to the law of Texas.

Criminal Penalties for Sexual Assault of a Child in Texas

Sexual assault of a child, a second-degree felony could land you in prison for up to 20 years. A sexual assault case turns out to be “aggravated” (a first-degree felony) when there are serious physical wounds on the alleged victim, or when a lethal weapon is involved.

You could serve up to 99 years in prison for aggravated sexual assault. The offense becomes “super-aggravated” when the alleged victim is below the age of six, and if you are to be convicted of such offense you could end up serving a sentence of 25 years to life without any eligibility for parole.

A second-degree felony that carries the punishment range of up to 20 years in prison is indecency with a child. Whether the accused is charged with indecency with a minor or sexual assault of a child (or both) rest on the facts of the case.

Continuous sexual abuse of young children or a child requires that the state provide evidence proving that the actions conducted occurred either several times in a given time or to several underage victims. If the evidence is provided in the court, the accused may serve a sentence of 25 years to life in prison without any chances of parole.

It is for your own benefit to have a legal team that is good at looking into sexual nature charges. There may be a problem with witness identification, alibi, or scientific evidence, among others, that must be investigated thoroughly in order to accurately defend against such serious accusations.

You Can Be Charged For Not Reporting Any Child Assault Abuse in Texas

It is an offense for not reporting the sexual assault of a child in Texas. The law clearly indicates that any person should immediately report suspected sexual abuse to local law enforcement or to a state agency or the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services.

After suspecting any child abuse, certain individuals who are employed as doctors, teachers, daycare workers, or nurses should make a verbal report within 48 hours. If you fail to do so, you could end up serving 180 days in jail and or a fine of up to $2,000.

Sexual Assault of Children in Texas: Statistics

A survey done by the Texas Department of State Health Services has shown that 1 out of 3 girls and 1 out of 5 boys are always victims of child abuse. In 2002, nearly two million victims in Texas were sexually assaulted. Every year in Texas, a quarter of a million children are sexually assaulted.

The Need for a lawyer in Austin

It can be tricky to navigate through the legal system. Even if the charges are not true, the general outcry is excessively biased towards the victim. If you have any hope of dismissing or reducing your charges, you will need the assistance of a sex crime lawyer in Austin.

As you can see, child abuse charges can turn out to be server criminal penalties that include both imprisonment and fines. These are the reasons why you will need to seek a professional, experienced criminal defense attorney who will assist you to ensure that you get the best outcome possible in your case and work through your legal matters.

http://www.dshs.texas.gov/csot/csot_tfacts.shtm

http://www.cachouston.org/child-sexual-abuse-facts/